PRESS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Karen Egelhoff, Communications Coordinator | 262-376-6103

CHS Students Named Semifinalist in U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

CEDARBURG, WI - Congratulations to Cedarburg High School seniors, Max Verhaalen, Julia Gergens, and Jayne Phillips for being nominated for the <u>U.S. Presidential Scholars Program</u> by the U.S. Department of Education! Max, Julia, and Jayne are among approximately 625 semifinalists in the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The semifinalists were selected from a pool of nearly 6,500 candidates expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2023.

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, now in its 58th year, is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected based on their accomplishments in many areasacademic and artistic success, accomplishment in career and technical fields, leadership, strong character, and involvement in school and the community.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by executive order of the President to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional visual, creative and performing arts talent. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.



CHS Principal Casey Bowe shared, "Max, Julia, and Jayne represent the best of what it means to be a Cedarburg Bulldog. I am immensely proud of them and am continually amazed by their incredible work ethic, resilience, and talents. Congratulations to them on all that they have already accomplished, and I wish them the best of luck as they move forward through the Presidential Scholars Award Program. We are all rooting for you! Go Bulldogs!"



PRESS RELEASE

The Commission on U.S. Presidential Scholars will soon complete its selection of the high school seniors named the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars. The Commission's choices will be announced in mid-May by the U.S. Secretary of Education.

Pictured L to R: CHS Seniors Max Verhaalen, Julia Gergens, Jayne Phillips, and Principal Mr. Casey Bowe.

#####

The mission of the Cedarburg School District is to provide an exemplary education that challenges students in a nurturing environment to develop into lifelong learners, to become responsible adults, and to achieve their goals and dreams.