

PRESS RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE 2.22.23 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Karen Egelhoff, Communications Coordinator | 262-376-6103

Thirty-eight CHS Students Receive NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing

CEDARBURG, WI - Cedarburg High School is excited to announce that thirty-eight students have been selected to receive the 2023 NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC). Over the past few years, our Computer Science program has continued to grow, and since 2018, seventy-nine Cedarburg students have been awarded some level of the Aspirations award from AiC, several of them more than once. With 38 recipients this year, it is the most in Wisconsin for the fourth year in a row!

CHS Computer Science teacher Ms. Stacy Lesmeister said, "We are so proud of each and every one of these students! They are so worthy of their awards. I cannot wait to see what they do next!" Mr. Mike Cullen, fellow CHS Computer Science teacher, added, "We are thrilled to see so many of our young women recognized for their achievements in computer science. They are leaders in the classroom today and will positively impact our world in the near future."

The award, sponsored by the National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT), the Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) honors women, genderqueer and non-binary in grades 9 through 12, who are active and interested in computing and technology and encourages them to pursue their passions. Award for AiC recipients are chosen for their demonstrated interest and achievements in computing, proven leadership ability, academic performance, and plans for post-secondary education. To date, nearly 8,600 women have been honored with the Award for AiC.

The multi-tiered award structure includes Winner, Honorable Mention, and Rising Star designations at National and Regional Affiliate levels, serving all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, all U.S. overseas military bases, and Canada. Regional Affiliate Award programs are hosted in 79 locations nationwide by NCWIT Alliance member organizations—a powerful national network of universities, companies, non-profits, and government organizations working to increase the influence and meaningful participation of girls and women from every community. The NCWIT-WI Awards Ceremony will be held at MSOE on May 7, 2023, with an option to attend virtually as well. Each student will be recognized for their accomplishments in IT, leadership, and aspirations.

"Congratulations to each of these thirty-eight computer science trailblazers", declared CHS Principal Casey Bowe. A big thank you to Stacy Lesmeister and Mike Cullen for their inspirational mentorship in the Computer Science Department. Go Bulldogs!"

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) is a non-profit community of more than 1,400 universities, companies, non-profits, and government organizations nationwide working to increase women's participation in computing and technology. Learn more at www.ncwit.org.



Left to Right:

First/Front Row:

- Hannah Zietlow (12) State Winner
- Nora Schraeder (9) State Winner
- Mia Hurd (9) Rising Star
- Anna Levy (11) Honorable Mention
- Mimi Hart (10) Honorable Mention
- Tess Kornetzke (11) Rising Star
- Lauren O'Leary (11) Honorable Mention

Second Row:

- Madison Engebose (11) State Winner
- Liz Nothem (11) Rising Star
- Sarah Prom (11) Rising Star
- Megan Lacke (11) Honorable Mention
- Berit Henderson (12) State Winner
- Grace Machata (10) Honorable Mention
- Siena Carli (10) Honorable Mention



PRESS RELEASE

Third Row:

- Pearl Winterhalter (11) Rising Star
- Katina Zimmerschied (11) Honorable Mention
- Lauren Lanning (11) State Winner
- Emma Snow (11) State Winner
- Jasmin Kraus (11) Honorable Mention
- Radha Patel (10) Rising Star
- Abigail Chen (11) Honorable Mention

Fourth Row:

- Freja Sanstad (10) Rising Star
- Finn Barratt (10) State Winner
- Natalie Khmelevsky (11) State Winner
- Molly Fletcher (11) State Winner
- Katie Spencer (11) Honorable Mention
- Jenny Spencer (11) Honorable Mention
- Sarah Gleed (11) Honorable Mention

Fifth/Back Row:

- Maddie Weber (11) Honorable Mention
- Mary Arnett (11) State Winner
- Nina Mlodzik (11) Rising Star
- Micah Kieckhefer (10) State Winner
- Mariia Mamaieva (12) State Winner
- Anna Meuler (10) Honorable Mention

Missing From Photo:

- Lucy Pahl (9) Rising Star
- Carly O'Leary (12) State Winner
- Maggie Bolander (11) Rising Star
- Ellie Stocking (10) Honorable Mention

#####

The mission of the Cedarburg School District is to provide an exemplary education that challenges students in a nurturing environment to develop into lifelong learners, to become responsible adults, and to achieve their goals and dreams.